Summer School: Interdisciplinary analysis of voting rules

University of Caen Basse-Normandie, Caen, France, July 8-12

Ecole thématique CNRS –COST Action IC1205 Summer School

Organizers : Annick Laruelle and Vincent Merlin

The objective of the summer school “Interdisciplinary Analysis of Voting Rules” is to present to PhD students, post doctoral fellows and young researchers tools from political sciences, economics, experimental economics, game theory, computer sciences, mathematics, for the analysis of voting rules and electoral reforms.  The summer school consists in 7 three-hour courses, 2 one-hour research papers presentations and 23 poster presentations. 



The Summer School gratefully acknowledges the support from the COST Action IC1205, from the CNRS, from the University of Caen Basse-Normandie, in particular the Faculty of Economics, and the city of Caen.



  1.  Types of Electoral Systems, André Blais, Professor of Political Science, University of Montréal 
  2.  Dichotomous Collective Decision Making, Annick Laruelle, Ikerbasque Research Professor in Economics, University of the Basque Country 
  3. Social Choice Theory, Hans Peters, Professor in Economics, University of Maastricht 
  4. Complexity of Voting Systems, Piotr Faliszewski, Professor in Computer Science, AGH University, Krakow
  5.  Experiments in Voting, Jean François Laslier, Research Professor in Economics, CNRS and Paris School of Economics 
  6. Voting Rules and their Impact on Electoral CompetitionNicolas Sauger, Research Professor in Political Science, Sciences Po Paris: 
  7. Districting and Gerrymandering, Andrea Scozzari, Professor of Mathematics and Operation Research, Università “Niccolò Cusano”:




  1.  Analyzing Mixed Voting Rules, Michel Le Breton, Toulouse School of Economics and IUF: 
  2. An introduction to electronic voting, with an application to Single Tranferable Vote, Jacques Traoré, Orange Labs




  1. Fatma Aslan: Monotonic extension of q-approval fallback bargaining. Joint with J. Lainé
  2. Marina Bannikova: Voting procedures with several stages
  3. Markus Brill: On the Axiomatic Characterization of Runoff Voting Rules. Joint with R. Freeman and V. Conitzer
  4. Agustin Casas: Ideological extremism and primaries
  5. Huihui DingA model of an incumbent's policymaking with conformism voters
  6. François Durand:  Making most voting systems meet the Condorcet criterion reduces their manipulability.Joint with F.Mathieu and L.Noirie.
  7. Albin Erlanson: Strategy Proof Assignment of Divisible and Indivisible Ressources
  8. Teresa Gonzalez-Arteaga: Borda-type codification of complete preorders and Mahalanobis disconsensus measures with J.C.R. Alcantud and R. de Andrès Calle
  9. Nora Ibarzabal: Abstention, null and blank votes in the Basque Country. Joint with A. Laruelle
  10. Alexander IvanovCoalitional Manipulability of Majority Relation-Based Social Choice Rules. Joint with F. Aleskerov, D. Karabekyan and V. Yakuba
  11. Artyom Jelnov: Number of parties and existence of dominant parties. Joint with B. Peleg
  12. Eric Kamwa: Scoring rules over subsets of alternatives : Consistency and Paradoxes. Joint with V. Merlin
  13. Daniel KarabekyanManipulability of Voting Rules for Impartial Anonymous Culture and Multiple Choice. Joint with F. Aleskerov, A. Ivanov and V. Yakuba
  14. Abhinaba Lahiri: Locating Public Bads in Neighbouring Countries. Joint with H. Peters and T. Storcken
  15. Alexander Mayer: Codecision in context: Implications for the balance of power in the EU. Joint with N. Maaser
  16. Ilan NehamaApproximately Classic Judgement Aggregation
  17. Zephirin Nganmeni: Owen spatial power index : generalization to an arbitrary set of issues
  18. Maria Del Pino Ramos SosaCompetition between ambiguous political parties. Joint with S. Puy
  19. Gillian SalernoDecision Cycles and Externalities
  20. Ali Seyhun Saral: Algorithms for Computing Root Profiles
  21. Oliwia Szczupska: Normative Properties of Approval Voting – An Experimental Approach
  22. Faty Mbaye TopDo Scoring Run-off Rules Escape from the Participation Paradoxes under Single Peaked preferences ?  with E. Kamwa and V. Merlin
  23. Timothy Yeung: Legal Systems and Electoral Rules



  1. Hamzeh Arabzadeh (Belgium)
  2. Fatma Aslan (Turkey)
  3. Marina Bannikova (Spain)
  4. Nathanael Barrot (France)
  5. André Blais (Canada). 
  6. Markus Brill (USA)
  7. Jan Cameron (USA)
  8. Agustin Casas (Spain)
  9. Giulia Cesari (Italy)
  10. Pelin Pasin Cowley (Turkey)
  11. Lihi Dery (Israel)
  12. Huihui Ding (France)
  13. Papatya Duman (Turkey)
  14. François Durand (France)
  15. Albin Erlanson (Sweden)
  16. Patricia Esteve-Gonzalez (Spain)
  17. Piotr Faliszewki (Poland)
  18. Angelo Fanelli (France)
  19. Teresa Gonzalez-Arteaga (Spain)
  20. Nora Ibarzabal (Spain)
  21. Alexander Ivanov (Russia)
  22. Smilka Janeska-Sarkanjac (Macedonia)
  23. Artyom Jelnov (Israel)
  24. Alda Kabre (France)
  25. Aaron Kamm (Netherlands)
  26. Eric Kamwa (France)
  27. Daniel Karabekyan (Russia)
  28. Mehmet Karakaya (Turkey)
  29. Gulnur Kocapinar (Turkey)
  30. Abhinaba Lahiri (Netherlands)
  31. Milena Lakicevic (Serbia)
  32. Annick Laruelle (Spain)
  33. Michel Le Breton (France)
  34. Yiming Liu (USA)
  35. Andrea Loreggia (Italy)
  36. Alexander Mayer (Germany)
  37. Vincent Merlin (France)
  38. Maria Morandini (France)
  39. Anna Moskalenko (Spain)
  40. Ilan Nehama (Israel)
  41. Zéphirin Nganmeni (France)
  42. Josue Ortega (Austria)
  43. Ali Ozkes (France)
  44. Hans Peters (Netherlands)
  45. Arash Pourebrahimi (Netherlands)
  46. Panos Protopapas (Switzherland)
  47. Maria del Pino Ramos Sosa (Spain)
  48. Christian Reger (Germany)
  49. Gilian Salerno (Ireland)
  50. Ali Seyhun Saral (Turkey)
  51. Nicolas Sauger (France)
  52. Milos Savic (Serbia)
  53. Andrea Scozzari (Italy)
  54. Oliwia Szczupska (Poland)
  55. Faty Mbaye Top (France)
  56. Jacques Traoré (France)
  57. Thibault Vallée (France)
  58. Alexander Voudouris (Greece)
  59. Timothy  Yeung (France)
  60. Izaskun Zuazu (Spain)


Organizing Committee

  • Pascal BULEON, Reserach Professor in Geography, CNRS, ESO and MRSH.
  • Annick LARUELLE, Research Professor in Economics, IKERBASQUE and University of the Basque Country.
  • Vincent MERLIN, Research Professor in Economics, CNRS and CREM.
  • Fabrice VALOGNES,  Professor in Economics,  Université de Caen Basse Normandie and CREM.


Scientific Committee

  • Pascal BULEON, Reserach Professor in Geography, CNRS, ESO and MRSH.
  • Ulle ENDRISS, Professor in Computer Science, University of Amsterdam.
  • Jérôme LANG, Research Professor in Computer Science, CNRS and  LAMSADE
  • Annick LARUELLE, Research Professor in Economics, IKERBASQUE and University of the Basque Country.
  • Boniface MBIH, Professor in Economics, Université de Caen Basse Normandie, CREM
  • Vincent MERLIN, Research Professor in Economics, CNRS and CREM.
  • Fabrice VALOGNES, Professor in Economics, Université de Caen Basse Normandie and CREM.


bridge | Faculty of Economics. University of the Basque Country UPV/EHU Página web creada por