Mathematics and Politics: Democratic Decision-Making

Hanover, May 28-30, 2018



Monday, 28 May, 2018

8:45 – 9:15

Registration and Welcome Coffee


9:15 – 10:15

Opening Remarks and Self-Introductions (one slide and one minute per person)

Werner Kirsch, Annick Laruelle, Stefan Napel, all Participants


10:15– 11:00

Introductory Keynote:
Democratic Systems and Political Representation

Bernard Grofman


11:00 – 11:15

Coffee Break


11:15 – 12:00

Perspectives from Political Practice:
Democracy in Europe and the European Union     (tentative title)

Elmar Brok (MEP)


12:00 – 12:30

What Social Choice Theory does and does not Teach us About Democracy

Hannu Nurmi

Chair: Manfred Holler

12:30 – 14:30



14:30 – 15:00

A Quasi-Natural Experiment on Electoral Rules and Political Representation 

David Stadelmann


15:00 – 15:30

Election Rules, Legislators’ Incentives, and Policy Outcomes: Evidence from the Mixed-member System in Germany

Nicola Maaser


15:30 – 16:00



Power and Bloc formation in a Consociational Democracy: Lessons from the Lebanese Republic

Frank Steffen

Chair: Christian Klamler

16:00 – 16:30

Coffee Break


16:30 – 17:00

Polarization and Power Distribution in the European Parliament

Fuad Aleskerov


17:00 – 17:30




17:30 – 18:00

European Parliament Elections: Structural Factors and Voter Turnout 1979 to 2014

Madeleine Hosli 


Servant of Two Masters or National Interests in the European Parliament

Wojciech Słomczyński


Chair: Antti Pajala



18.15 – 18.45

from 18.45




Tuesday, 29 May, 2018

9:00 – 9:30

Practical Preferential Voting Rules

Felix Brandt


9:30 – 10:00

Proportional Representation Without Party Lists

Markus Brill


10:00 – 10:30

On the Complexity of Justified Representation

Edith Elkind

Chair: Anke Gerber

10:30 – 11:00

Coffee Break


11:00 – 11:30

Evaluating the Likelihood of the Referendum Paradox for Mixed Voting Systems

Vincent Merlin


11:30 – 12:00



Manipulation, Control, and Bribery in Voting 

Jörg Rothe

12:00 – 12:30

Limit Results for Power Indices 

Sascha Kurz

Chair: Maurice Salles

12:30 – 14:30



14:30 – 15:00

Resource Allocation by “Frugal” Majority Rules: An Arrovian Possibility Result

Clemens Puppe 


15:00 – 16:00

Rump Session

Markus Brill, Katharina Gräßel, Monika Mühlböck, Antti Pajala, Marina Uzunova, Mandfred Holler, Christian Klamler, Vincent Merlin, Annick Laruelle


16:00 – 16:30

Coffee Break



16:30– 17:00



17:00 – 17:30


Voting to Split

William Zwicker


Legislative Bargaining in Weighted Majority Games

Maria Montero 


17:30 – 18:00

Representation by Approval: the Diversity Value

Klaus Nehring 



Chair: André Casajus

18.15 – 18.45



Conference Dinner 


Wednesday, 30 May, 2018

9:00 – 9:30

Voter Responsiveness and Responsibility for Supranational Fiscal Governance

Thomas König 


9:30 – 10:00



10:00 – 10:30

On the Weights of Sovereign Nations

Rafael Treibich


Influence and Compromise

Geoffrey Grimmett  


Chair: Monika Mühlböck

10:30 – 11:00

Coffee Break


11:00 – 11:30

Balance of Power in the European Union Legislature

Andrew Duff


11:30 – 12:00



12:00 – 12:30

Degressive Representation and Double Proportionality

Friedrich Pukelsheim


Composition of the European Parliament in 2019

Vitoriano Ramirez

Chair: Claus Beisbart

12:30– 14:00



14:00 – 14:30

Two-tier Voting systems and Probability Measures on the Simplex

Karol Życzkowski 


14:30 – 15:00




Estimating the Probability of Acting as a Trustee

Serguei Kaniovski


The Coleman-Shapley-Index: Being Decisive Within the Coalition of the Interested Frank Hüttner



Influence in Weighted Committee Games

Alexander Mayer

Chair: Federico Valenciano

16:00 – 16:45

Coffee, Canapés and Closing Remarks

All Participants, Werner Kirsch, Annick Laruelle, Stefan Napel 




16:45 – 18:15

Guided tour of Herrenhausen’s Berggarten (botanical garden, conservatories)



Name Subject Institution/Universtiy Country
Fuad Aleskerov Mathematics Moscow Russia
Claus Beisbart Philosophy Bern Switzerland
Felix Brandt Computer Science Munich Germany
Markus Brill Computer Science TU Berlin Germany
Elmar Brok Politics Member of the EP Germany
André Casajus Economics Leipzig Germany
Sebastien Courtin Economics Caen France
Mostapha Diss Economics St. Etienne France
Andrew Duff Former EP Spinelli Group & EPC UK
Edith Elkind Computer Science Oxford UK
Michael Fleermann Mathematics Hagen Germany
Anke Gerber Economics Hamburg Germany
Stephane Gonzalez Economics St. Etienne France
Katharina Gräßel Economics Bayreuth Germany
Geoffrey Grimmett Mathematics Cambridge UK
Bernard Grofman Politics Irvine, CA USA
Manfred Holler Economics Hamburg Germany
Madeleine Hosli Politics Leiden The Netherlands
Frank Hüttner Economics Leipzig Germany
Serguei Kaniovski Economics Wien Austria
Werner Kirsch Mathematics Hagen Germany
Christian Klamler Economics Graz Austria
Thomas König PolEcon Mannheim Germany
Jessica Kohnen Mathematics Hagen Germany
Sascha Kurz Mathematics Bayreuth Germany
Annick Laruelle Economics Bilbao Spain
Nicola Maaser Economics Bremen Germany
Alexander Mayer Economics Bayreuth Germany
Vincent Merlin Economics Caen France
Maria Montero Economics Nottingham UK
Monika Mühlböck Politics Wien Austria
Stefan Napel Economics Bayreuth Germany
Klaus Nehring Economics Davis USA
Hannu Nurmi Politics Turku Finland
Antti Pajala Politics Turku Finland
Friedrich Pukelsheim Mathematics Augsburg Germany
Clemens Puppe Economics Karlsruhe Germany
Vitoriano Ramirez Mathematics Granada Spain
Jörg Rothe Math Düsseldorf Germany
Maurice Salles Economics Caen France
Peter Schiffauer Politics Brussels/Hagen Germany
Wojciech Słomczyński Mathematics Krakow Poland
David Stadelmann Economics Bayreuth Germany
Frank Steffen Economics Bayreuth Germany
Gabor Toth Mathematics Hagen Germany
Rafael Treibich Economics Odense Denmark
Marina Uzunova Philosophy Amsterdam The Netherlands
Federico Valenciano Mathematics Bilbao Spain
William Zwicker Mathematics Schenectady, NY USA
Karol Życzkowski Physics Krakow Poland


bridge | Faculty of Economics. University of the Basque Country UPV/EHU Página web creada por